What are the exact criteria for the "with hints" designation?

cletustweets's Avatar

cletustweets

04 Aug, 2014 02:40 PM

I've noticed that sometimes, if I use "check for errors" only once or twice, my score will still be listed under "without hints." What are the exact criteria for a score being listed under with or without hints?

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by ben on 04 Aug, 2014 06:19 PM

    ben's Avatar

    If you don't have any errors, we don't 'charge' you a hint.

    Ben

  2. ben closed this discussion on 04 Aug, 2014 06:19 PM.

  3. cletustweets re-opened this discussion on 04 Aug, 2014 06:30 PM

  4. 2 Posted by cletustweets on 04 Aug, 2014 06:30 PM

    cletustweets's Avatar

    I apologize for belaboring such an insignificant point, but now that I've started:

    That doesn't answer my question. Because sometimes when I use "check for errors" and I DO have an error, my score will STILL be listed as "without hints." If you don't wish to disclose the criteria, I'm fine with that. I haven't figured out the rules of "without hints," but sometimes they seem to be applied inconsistently across different puzzles.

  5. Support Staff 3 Posted by ben on 04 Aug, 2014 06:42 PM

    ben's Avatar

    We do have a little of of 'wiggle room' built in to cover accidental reveals. I don't want to say exactly what it is, but your supposition is correct :-)

    Ben

  6. ben closed this discussion on 04 Aug, 2014 06:42 PM.

Discussions are closed to public comments.
If you need help with Stand Alone, Inc. please start a new discussion.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac